Guns chokes and steel shot

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stevenm3.2

Been shooting a while now but only ever used lead shot. Can you guys advise me if my guns are steel shot proofed and what chokes should be used. I have a beretta 682 gold and a beretta A400 semi auto both are multi chokes. Any advise would be greatly appreciated thanks.

With standard steel loads and high performance steel there are differences the " fleur de lis " stamped on the barrel is the proof mark for steel, however I'm no expert so I would put that question to GMK and get the facts.

Normal advice is to use a maximum constriction of half choke  and standard proof loads.

I have to say that I hate steel loads and they in my opinion should not be used.

But that is my opinion.

For the people who love Steel I will leave you with this thought.

Would you run your car's engine with no oil in it?

Steel on Steel ! Does that really make sense?

Watch out that you don't fall in that giant Jurassic rut that some of the forum dinosaurs are stuck in! If I was so 'tunnel visioned" I would have been unable to shoot at my favourite club for the last 14 years as it is steel only!

Just off to pick up my next thousand steelies :) £145 per thousand and lots more little balls of clay smoking goodness even in 24 gram :D I think steel has its place (for me, on the skeet range) but I wouldn't want to use it for anything else, and god forbid on live stuff. However I do know a couple of pigeon shooters who have to use steel as they sell to hawkers and the lead would poison them.

Last edited by a moderator:
Don't use steel.....it will end our sport......in the long run.......just saying ......!

.......or you will end up just shooting skeeeeeet.......with all the young things like Kent and Fuz :laugh:

Whoop whoop..!

hawkers ?

Like del and Rodney trotter ?