Age And Shooting New Member

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

peter4duck

Hello I am a new member living in Florida, just started clays at age 70, any thoughts on how difficult this might be?.

Previously have not shot for 40 years then only for a short time.

Hi Peter - and welcome to ShootClay!

We have plenty of great coaches and some serious shooters on ShootClay - I'm certain that one will advise you perfectly. In my experience, I've seen plenty of seniors shooting to a very high standard - I see no reason why age can have any impact on you learning to shoot. As I say, we have some real experts here who will certainly advise.

Hello Peter, lovely to have you on board all the way from the other side of the pond as it were.

As a Coach I have several shall we say "more mature" shooters coming to see me regularly and are enjoying it immensely.

The main problems they have is focussing on certain types of clay targets and restriction of movement or being quite stiff.

Clay shooting though can in fact loosen you up a little as well. I get my "more mature" pupils to do a few minor stretching exercises before shooting at all and then a few more before certain targets so they can swing better etc. Just about all of them say they are a little looser than when they first started shooting.

Also a real problem can be recoil if using a heavy load. But these days there are many recoil reduction devices you can have put on your gun as well as lighter loaded cartridges with far less recoil but still kill a target very well at 60yds.

But there are plenty of targets out there that the "more mature" shooter can hit and hit very well indeed.

You don't have to hit every target to enjoy yourself, in fact that gets boring after a while believe me... :D ;)